Alert Notifications Flow

Although OpsGenie alerts contain any information related to event contents and attachments onto them, only creating alerts for events is for the most part insufficient, especially when fast-ops responsiveness is the topic. OpsGenie provides flexible configurations that can be used to build your incident management architecture and each configuration also affects the flow of notifications. The following diagram summarizes the life-cycle of notifications when an alert is created within OpsGenie:

Let's review each step:

  • 1. When an alert is created within OpsGenie, its state is open and unacknowledged. As we will discuss further, the decision of sending an alert notification is always dependent on the state of the related alert.
  • 2. If there is an Auto-Close Policy whose conditions are satisfied by the alert content, an auto-close event will be triggered. When the time of a triggered auto-close event is up, the alert will automatically be closed by OpsGenie if it is still open. Please note: that after an alert is closed no matter how (by a user, an auto-close policy or an integration “Close Alert Rule”), the notification flow of the alert will completely stop.
  • 3. If there is an Auto Restart-Notifications Policy whose conditions are satisfied by the alert content, an auto-close event will be triggered. When the time of a triggered auto restart-notifications event is up, the notification flow of the alert will automatically be restarted by OpsGenie if it is still open. In other words, the flow will restart beginning from Step 4 regardless of the current state.
  • 4. - 7. If there is any specified immediate recipient within the alert content, the corresponding users will be added to alert to be notified. On the other hand, if there is any specified immediate teams within the alert content:
    • If there is no immediate recipient, first routing rule of the team whose alert based conditions and time restrictions are satisfied will be used to route the alert. Please note: that a team routing rule can route the alert to an escalation, to a schedule or to no one.
    • All member users of the team will only gain visibility for the alert and the escalation of the team will not be triggered, if there is also at least one immediate recipient.
    You can refer to the Alert Recipients and Teams for further information about the Recipients and Teams of the alert.
  • 8. If any of the target users have an outgoing forwarding rule to another user at the moment, the forwarded user(s) will be added as recipients to the alert instead.
  • 9. If an escalation is triggered (no matter when the escalation was added to recipients field), OpsGenie will start processing the rules within the escalation.
  • 10. When the specified time for a processed escalation rule comes, the state of the alert will be checked first. If the escalation rule notifies its recipients when the alert is not acknowledged, the target recipients will be added to the alert only if the alert is both open and un-acknowledged. If the escalation rule notifies its recipients when the alert is not closed, the target recipients will be added to the alert only if the alert is open (no matter what the acknowledged state is). If an escalation rule adds any user as a recipient, the notification flow will start for the added users from step 5.
  • 11. If there is a Notification Policy whose conditions are satisfied by the alert content, the matched policy will be executed.
  • 12. If the matched notification policy suppresses the notifications, OpsGenie will not notify any of the users who were and who will be added as recipient(s). If not, the flow will continue to check if there is a delay configuration within the matched policy.
  • 13. - 15. If the matched notification policy delays notifications, a delay event will be fired. When the time of delay event is up, the flow of delayed notification-flow will continue from step 13. If the matched notification policy re-notifies the recipient users, a re-notify event will be fired. When the time of the re-notify event is up, the flow will continue from step 13.
  • 16. When time to notify a recipient user comes, which is:
    • If there is no matched notification policy with delay option, the time of being added as a recipient.
    • If there is a matched notification policy with delay option, the time of being added as a recipient, plus the delay amount.
    • If there is a matched notification policy with re-notify option, each time the re-notify period is completed.
    then the state of the alert will be checked and the recipient user will not be notified for the following conditions:
    • If the alert is closed, the recipient user will not be notified anyway.
    • If the alert is open but acknowledged, the recipient user will not be notified for being added as a recipient. However, if there is a matched notification policy with a Re-Notify If Not Closed option, the user will be notified each time the re-notify period time is up and the alert is still open.
    • If the alert is open and un-acknowledged, the recipient user will be notified only if the alert was not seen by the user before, i.e. the details of the alert was not displayed via any of the OpsGenie applications. Displaying the details of a delayed, snoozed or suppressed alert will not prevent any future notifications. Similarly, if a user gained visibility to an alert via an escalation, displaying the alert details before escalation notification time will not prevent any future notifications. If there is a matched notification policy with any re-notify option, the recipient user will be notified each time the re-notify period time is up and the alert state still satisfies the re-notify condition.
  • 17. If the alert state does not prevent the recipient user from being notified, then the notification settings of recipient user will be processed to notify. The type of notification rule to use while notifying the recipient user depends on the notification reason:
    • If the user is being notified due to being added as a recipient to the alert between steps 3-7, notification rules with New Alert type will be used.
    • If the user is being notified due to Add Recipient or Add Team actions, notification rules with New Alert type will be used.
    • If the user is being notified due to a restarted notifications flow by Snooze action, notification rules with New Alert type will be used.
    • If the user is being notified due to a re-notify policy event, notification rules with Renotified Alert type will be used.
    • If the user is being notified due to another alert action, which notification rule type to use is decided as follows:
      • For acknowledge action, Acknowledged Alert
      • For close action, Closed Alert
      • For assign action, Assigned Alert
      • For adding note, Add Note
  • 18. If time restrictions and the alert conditions are satisfied for at least one of the notification rules of the user with the decided type at step 14, the flow will continue. If there is no matched notification rule, the user will not be notified. If there is at least one matched notification rule, the one with earliest order will be used to notify the user.
  • 19. If the specified contact within the related step of notification rule is enabled, the notification will be sent. If not, OpsGenie will not notify the user.