Users and Roles

Users

OpsGenie requires users to have a verified email account to use the service. Admin & Owner roles can add users to OpsGenie via the Users Page, users can also be managed via User API.

To add users:

Add New User

  • Go to Users page , click on "Add User" button, enter a valid email address for the user, full name and specify his role (admin, user or restricted user). Note that e-mail address should not exceed 100 characters.
  • The new user will receive an invitation email from OpsGenie. User needs to accept the invitation by clicking the link in the email to validate the email address.
  • If new user has not received invitation email, please use Reinvite button on Users page.  You may want to advise users to check the junk / spam mail folder as well.

Roles

Manage Roles

Every OpsGenie user has an e-mail address, a name and a role. There are 3 different roles in OpsGenie. Roles and their capabilities are listed below:

  • User

    • See their alerts
    • Create alerts and perform all alert actions excluding delete
    • Manage contact methods
    • Manage notification rules
    • Manage quiet hours
    • Manage forwarding rules
    • View the groups, escalations and schedules that they belong to.
    • Add override to the schedules that they belong to.
    • View their on call schedule
    • See on call people of their teams and schedules
  • Owner role is first given to the user who signed up to OpsGenie. There can be multiple owners. Also there needs to be at least one owner. Owners have all "Admin" capabilities and some extras:

    • Manage account owners.
    • Billing and subscription plan responsibilities.
    • Receive invoice emails.
  • Admin

    • See all alerts
    • Manage users, groups, escalations, schedules and policies.
    • Can manage listed capabilities for all users including themselves
      • Manage contact methods.
      • Manage notification rules.
      • Manage quiet hours.
      • Manage forwarding rules.
    • Manage integrations.
    • Manage teams.
    • Can see all on call people.
    • Access reports page.
    • Access account-wide logs.

Custom Roles

You can also specify a customizable User role, which you can restrict certain rights and assign to your users. These users will have all the user capabilities but the ones you've disabled. To create a custom role, go to Manage Roles page.

Click "Add Role" or edit an existing custom role to configure its rights. Currently, the rights you can configure are:

  • Administrative Rights: Configures the ability to access all of the components that admins can access; including groups, escalations, users, integrations, teams, schedules and policies. Note that, this right excludes the access to User Roles.
    • Edit Configuration:Configures ability to edit existing OpsGenie configurations, and create new configurations.
    • Delete Configuration: Configures ability to delete OpsGenie configurations To grant this right for a custom role, Edit Configuration right should also be granted.
  • Edit Notification Preferences: Configures whether the users of this role can manage their own notification preferences. If dis-granted, only Owners and Admins can manage the notification preferences of users with this role.
  • Edit Quiet Hours: Configures the ability of user to edit his/her current quiet hours setting.
  • Who Is On Call - Show All: Configures the ability of users to see whether all the schedules on Who Is On Call page or only their own schedules.
  • See All Alerts: Configures the ability of users to see whether they can see all the alerts within your account even if the user is not a recipient for the alert.
  • Access to Reports: Configures the ability of users for accessing the Reports page and the functionality inside.
  • Access to Logs Page: Configures the ability of users for accessing the Logs page to search account-wide logs.
  • Update Maintenance: Configures the ability of users to update the already created/planned Maintenance policies.
  • Alert Life-Cycle Related Rights: These rights take effect while executing an action that will affect the alert life-cycle and applied while executing these action via OpsGenie applications including Web and Mobile, SMS & Voice notifications or chat commands.
    • Create Alert: Configures whether the users can create new alerts or not.
    • Acknowledge: Configures whether the users can acknowledge alerts or not.
    • Acknowledge All: Configures whether the users can execute Ack All action. To grant this right for a custom role, Acknowledge right should also be granted.
    • Close: Configures whether the users can close alerts or not.
    • Close All: Configures whether the users can execute Close All action. To grant this right for a custom role, Close right should also be granted.
    • Delete Alert: Configures whether the users can delete an existing alert or not. To grant this right for a custom role, Close right should also be granted.
    • UnAcknowledge: Configures whether the users can un-acknowledge an alert or not.
    • Snooze: Configures whether the users can snooze alerts until a later time.
    • Escalate to Next: Configures whether the users can escalate an alert to next recipients without waiting for escalation rule time.
    • Add Recipient: Configures whether the users can add new recipients for an alert or not.
    • Add Team: Configures whether the users can add new teams for an alert or not.
    • Take Ownership: Configures whether the users can takes the ownership of an alert.
    • Assign: Configures whether the users can assign the ownership of an alert to another user.
    • Add Note to Alert: Configures whether the users can add new notes to an alert.
    • Attach to Alert: Configures whether the users can attach new files onto an alert.
    • Execute Custom Actions: Configures whether the users can execute a custom action that was customly defined during the creation of an alert.
    • Edit Tags: Configures whether the users can add new tags onto an alert or remove an existing one from the alert.
    • Edit Custom Properties: Configures whether the users can add new custom key-value pairs onto an alert or remove an existing key-value pair property from the alert.
  • After you saved a custom role, you can go back to Users page and assign that role to your users.

    Team Member Roles

    There are two more roles, only available in team's scope:

    • Team Admin:
      • Access to team's dashboard.
      • Manage team's members.
      • Manage team's schedule and escalation.
    • Team Member
      • Access to team's dashboard.
      • View team's members.
      • View team's schedule and escalation.
      • Add override to team's schedule.

    To get more info about teams please refer to Teams support doc.